John Tiller Software: Napoleonic Battles Recommendation?

Started by Grim.Reaper, December 13, 2020, 07:20:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grim.Reaper

Not sure why I do this to myself, but someone mentioned in the Tiller Software sale thread about the Napoleon Battles series games and peaked my interest.  I know nothing about those battles so thinking might be a nice education:)  With that said, looking for a recommendation of which to get with the following thoughts.

1)  Since I know very little about these battles, subject matter doesn't matter to me.  Sure I have heard of Waterloo and played various games based on it but doesn't mean I am an expert:)
2)  Is there any advantage over the newer releases?  And on that note, does anyone even know the release order of the games?  Not sure when each were released.  Maybe doesn't matter since it seems like they all received updates in 2020.
3)  I saw some of these have new 3D maps which I tagged below.  Maybe I should go with them?  Although I wasn't sure if any of the other recent releases already had the good 3D maps included and not listed as updates.  Not sure how to find that out.
4)  On the fence about scenarios...my first instinct is leaning towards more smaller but something about this period makes me think I should go for the bigger ones.....maybe the best is a nice mixture:)

Not 100% sure I will pull the trigger, but very tempting based on what I might hear.....

List of Available Games

Wellington's Peninsular Campaign
Campaign Eylau-Friedland
Republican Bayonets on the Rhine
Campaign Marengo
Bonaparte's Peninsular War
Campaign Bautzen
Campaign 1814
Campaign Leipzig (Updated 3D Maps)
Campaign Austerlitz
Campaign Jena-Auerstedt
Campaign Waterloo (Updated 3D Maps)
Campaign Wagram
Napoleon's Russian Campaign (Updated 3D Maps)
Campaign Eckmuhl (Updated 3D Maps)

devoncop

Hi GR

I have all of these except 1814 and the Peninsular titles.