Adventures in automobile repair...

Started by republic, March 30, 2013, 10:13:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

republic

So I bought a used Xterra so we could have something to haul a small trailer.  We generally favor small high mpg cars because we are always on the run.  Anyhow the Xterra had some small issues and I have been trying to work through them one weekend at a time.

This weekend, it was a whine from the power steering pump.  Plenty of fluid but the fluid was pitch black.  "I'll flush the system" I say...

Anyhow, 4 days, 4 quarters of power steering fluid, 2 clamps, many cuts, scrapes, and expletives later...it is fixed.  I spent the last 2 days replacing, refitting, and adjusting the wrong clamp...

I am having a bit of fun though, I picked up the Xterra from a little old lady (literally) for $3000 so it is a relatively cheap learning tool.  It reminds me of 20+ years ago when I started learning how to work on computers.

Any advice for a new shade tree mechanic?

W8taminute

When I was younger I used to do most of my own maintenance such as changing brake pads, spark plugs, fuel filters, oil and filter, air filter, etc.  Nothing too challenging.  I think the most complicated item I swapped out on my own was a starter coil. 

Two pieces of advice I can offer: Organization and having the right tool for the job.

Whenever you disassemble anything always segregate the pieces neatly and label them somehow.  This way when you put the item back together again you know which screw, nut, clamp, etc. goes where.  Take note of part orientation as well. 

I used to change my brake pads without a caliper tool and it always was a 45 minute job.  Once I purchased my own brake changing tool kit the job took me no more than 15 - 20 minutes.  Even if you buy a tool and use it only once, you'll save yourself time and injury if you have the right tool.
"You and I are of a kind. In a different reality, I could have called you friend."

Romulan Commander to Kirk