UK Leaving the EU?

Started by BanzaiCat, June 22, 2016, 07:06:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BanzaiCat

I admit I had not heard of this until I opened up today's Wall Street Journal (don't judge, I got a year subscription for free) and saw on the front page, "Markets Rise on U.K. Polls." My company, based in Scotland, had a blurb on its Intranet yesterday too about how this would impact the company (and the answer in the article was, there was no answer, just a lot of general vague points, which wasn't very encouraging).

I didn't know that the UK was even considering leaving the EU. Is this a result of a rise in nationalism/anti-immigration? (I'm not taking a stance either way, I'm genuinely curious.) Is the UK facing similar shifts in government/pressures from the people?

I had thought the EU was generally successful, if not for countries like Greece causing a tremendous drag on the overall economy of the whole. But again, my knowledge is somewhat superficial. Anyone care to elaborate, especially those of you living there? What are your opinions/perceptions?

Pete Dero

BanzaiCat

Sir Slash

The Brits can leave the EU but please don't leave the Grogs. I don't want to be the only guy here wearing a dress. Kilt I mean.  ::)
"Take a look at that". Sgt. Wilkerson-- CMBN. His last words after spotting a German tank on the other side of a hedgerow.

mirth

"45 minutes of pooping Tribbles being juggled by a drunken Horta would be better than Season 1 of TNG." - SirAndrewD

"you don't look at the mantelpiece when you're poking the fire" - Bawb

"Can't 'un' until you 'pre', son." - Gus

JudgeDredd

Alba gu' brath

bob48

Quote from: Sir Slash on June 22, 2016, 11:04:51 AM
The Brits can leave the EU but please don't leave the Grogs. I don't want to be the only guy here wearing a dress. Kilt I mean.  ::)

Oh don't worry about that, there are plenty of us.............Ah, oops.
'We few, we happy few, we band of brothers'

'Clip those corners'