Wargame Design Studios Panzer Battles question

Started by acctingman, July 28, 2023, 01:28:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

acctingman

Has anyone played the WDS Panzer Battles games? I heard the titles are slowly being converted to 3d sprites and I was wondering what people thought of the games? I've been eyeballing Second Front but that game doesn't seem "new guy to tactical wargame" friendly. By the looks of it, I'm not sure the WDS games are either  :grin:

ethelberttaylo

I just started playing, it's fun but it's also boring. WDS are all the same.

Jarhead0331

I always felt like WDS games and HPS/Tiller before it, where sort of easy to learn, but hard to master. Whether panzer battles is the right series for you will depend largely on what you're looking for in terms of scale. PB fits between Squad Battles and Panzer Campaigns, having 250 meter hexes, 1 turn equal to 30 minutes, and platoon size units. The battles in the series focus on tank battles and ranged fire.

Personally I think WDS shines at the Squad Battles scale. I think 50 meter hexes and 5 minute terms. Units are squad sized with individual vehicles modeled. It's my favorite of the venerable Tiller designed games.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18

devoncop

Quote from: ethelberttaylo on July 30, 2023, 08:49:08 PMI just started playing, it's fun but it's also boring. WDS are all the same.

I am playing a LOT of the WDS/Tiller Operational level games and I can assure you they are anything but "the same"