The US Parcel system

Started by Jarhead0331, June 16, 2020, 05:25:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jarhead0331

Is it me, or does it totally suck? I've had some really negative experiences lately. Not sure if it is COVID related, but at this point that seems unlikely.

I have had a couple of international shipments over the last couple weeks and tracking them has been interesting.

One came from Great Britain. It took 6 days total to get to me. In the first 2 days, it move from GB to Germany, then on to France, and finally into the US at Newark, NJ. On the third day it arrived in Jamaica, NY...this is about 50 miles from my house...and there it sat for almost 48 hours, before finally making its way to a distribution facility about 5 miles from my house where it sat for another 24 hours before being loaded onto a truck and delivered the following day. This was Fedex.

The other came from India...again, in the first 2 days it moved fast, getting through a couple points in India, then to Hong Kong and then into the US in Ohio. Again, it sat in Ohio for at least a day and half before surprisingly popping up in Miami. It sat in Miami for almost 2 days before being placed on hold and then appearing back in Ohio! It's still there and doesn't appear to be moving. This is DHL.

I mean, wtf? Things flow really quickly internationally and then once the parcel enters the system in the US, it's like watching a mouse try to make its way through a maze to the cheese. The issues dont appear to be customs related as both times they cleared customs quickly. It really just seems to be inadequate, inefficient or incompetent logistics. Crazy.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18

jamus34

I've noticed issues too. My wife has 2 packages that are supposed to final deliver for the past week sitting at our post office.