Main Menu

Democracy 3

Started by republic, September 13, 2013, 06:13:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

republic

I did something I never do and preordered Democracy 3.  Half because it looks interesting and half because I'm a teacher and I'd like to try (in yet another way) to help my students understand that checks from the government must be paid for...

Has anyone else picked this up?

LongBlade

SoM did a nice preview of it a while back. He knows the series and really liked what he saw: http://grogheads.com/?p=2041
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

Grim.Reaper

Is there any military parts of this game, not detailed battles, but the ability to still participate in wars, interventions, etc.  Or is the game entirely meant only to deal with internal politics?

LongBlade

I haven't played it but I believe it's purely about domestic politics.

Need to buy this game and find out.
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

son_of_montfort

Quote from: Grim.Reaper on September 13, 2013, 05:25:36 PM
Is there any military parts of this game, not detailed battles, but the ability to still participate in wars, interventions, etc.  Or is the game entirely meant only to deal with internal politics?

Military is dealt with only tangentially. I believe, if you cut military too much, you run the risk of having unpleasant events throw off the entire balance. Moreover, you now have a large number of "radical groups" with which to contend. One of them, a far-left liberal group of terrorists succeeded in assassinating me in response to increasing CIA and Police presence.