Any interest in playtesting something?

Started by Gladius, December 09, 2013, 12:29:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gladius

Excuse any violations of etiquette and protocol - I'm not sure if this belongs in this forum, or the DIY forum, or some other place. I'll start it here because this subforum seems to be the best fit, but feel free to move to another location if it's wrong. Or, feel free to smack me down entirely and tell me to go back to scrubbing the latrine until I have a hundred posts :)

As I mentioned in the Welcome thread, I'm a game designer (previously working in video games, now working in my spare time on my own creations). I have created a game that is in the playtest-and-feedback stages. It's a wargame, but it's a bit unique in that it's not hex-and-chits nor is it really a miniatures game. It's a bit of a hybrid. I'm looking for folks who might be interested in doing some blind playtesting for me - that is, I send you a PDF of the game, you go and try to play it without any help from me. This helps to see if the rules are understandable and if the mechanics make sense without me explaining things.

A bit about the game: It's a beer-and-pretzels tactical tank game. While the scenarios are vaguely based on real battles, I don't intend it to be a true-to-life simulation game - however, I do want the authentic feel of tank combat. That said, it's ONLY about tanks - no infantry, no AT weapons, just tanks duking it out. If you've played Wings of Glory/War, or the Star Wars X-Wing game, or the Pirates of the Spanish Main ship minis game, it's got some bits of those games in it.

Here's the pitch blurb:
"Head to head WWII miniature tank warfare where the cards are the minis"