Main Menu

Piling on Paradox

Started by Bismarck, February 02, 2012, 02:32:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bismarck

Look, I like Paradox and their games. I'll wait patiently for patches; I've been doing that with almost every publisher for 30 years. However, things are getting screwy.

I read the SotS2 thread and what Paradox did was bad. Now, get this:

People who d/l the Vicky 2 expansion A House Divided are having problems like I did. We get a message saying we're missing a dll and another saying we should roll back our C+++ version.  Support gives us the final insult: "user error and turn off AV". I did this and no joy.

Finally, I uninstalled and re-installed the base Vicky 2 and patched up.  AHD then installed, although I had to ignore the C+++ message. It's one thing to have buggy code but an incomplete, misleading installer?  C'mon!!!

Before you ask, the 5 hours I spent installing prevented me from playing the game and giving first impressions.
Jim Cobb

Slick Wilhelm

Wow, that's not good. Sounds like you might have had a corrupt .dll file in your base Victoria II install tree, if the new DLC couldn't find it.

IMO, that Microsoft Visual C++ runtime error should never happen. At worse, they should give you an option to repair it.

Unfortunately, in the software biz it's usually(but not always) a fact that the people with the least knowledge of the software are the first point of contact for the customer(tech support line). They're usually just reading off a script or cue cards for common possible solutions.

son_of_montfort

While no longer Paradox, I have been unable to download from Gamersgate for the past two weeks or more. I've been in touch with support but, so far, no dice and I haven't heard from them in the past 3 days or so. I've asked for a refund on my Crusader Kings II pre-order, so I can get it on Steam or Amazon.com and not have to worry about the DL, but the support guy has been unwilling to comply.