Author Topic: Yet Another Glitch  (Read 622 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15129
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Yet Another Glitch
« on: May 06, 2021, 01:34:37 PM »
Although the GPU seems to be functioning normally now, I've had another strange glitch crop up. It involves the new SSD I installed internally.

The issue is this...when doing a cold boot, the SSD is not detected. I then do a warm boot and the SSD is there and functioning normally. I'm pretty confident this has to do with a Bios setting or boot issue, I just can't really figure out what it is or what to adjust.

I read an interesting article on the Seagate site that said sometimes this is caused by the MOBO booting too fast, before the SSD can come online.  Seagate recommends disabling quick boot or adding a boot delay of less than 5 seconds. However, I can't see any option to do either in the Bios settings.

I can live with this, but ideally would like to have it solved.

Any ideas?
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline al_infierno

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
  • Giudecca in the hell of unknowing
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2021, 01:57:16 PM »
I'd try googling your MOBO with something like "bios disable quick boot" and try that out.  I went ahead and did that anyways because the SSD will sometimes boot up too fast for me to even catch the splash screen and enter the BIOS in the first place.  :buck2:
It makes no difference what men think of war, said the judge.  War endures.  As well ask men what they think of stone.  War was always here.  Before man was, war waited for him.  The ultimate trade awaiting its ultimate practitioner.  That is the way it was and will be.  That way and not some other way.
- Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian


If they made nothing but WWII games, I'd be perfectly content.  Hypothetical matchups from alternate history 1980s, asymmetrical US-bashes-some-3rd world guerillas, or minor wars between Upper Bumblescum and outer Kaboomistan hold no appeal for me.
- Silent Disapproval Robot


I guess it's sort of nice that the word "tactical" seems to refer to some kind of seriousness during your moments of mental clarity.
- MengJiao

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15129
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2021, 02:22:07 PM »
I'd try googling your MOBO with something like "bios disable quick boot" and try that out.  I went ahead and did that anyways because the SSD will sometimes boot up too fast for me to even catch the splash screen and enter the BIOS in the first place.  :buck2:

Yup. Already did that. Didn't come up with anything useful.

EDIT: Wait! May have found something...
« Last Edit: May 06, 2021, 02:25:08 PM by Jarhead0331 »
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15129
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2021, 09:00:34 AM »
It is very strange...none of the advanced options relating to fast boot that the MSI documentation says should be in the Bios are actually there where the manual says they should be...very frustrating.

You don't think this issue could be power related do you? I mean, after a warm reboot, the SSD is there every time and it is not like it comes and goes. Its just that cold boot where it does not get detected.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline WallysWorld

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1049
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2021, 09:28:36 AM »
Maybe this? It's a long shot as it pertains to HDD's though, but worth a try if you have that option in your BIOS.

Computer won't boot or drive is not detected after cold boot, but is after warm boot or reset.

Whoops! I see you already tried that.

Unfortunately most websites about your issue talk about an issue with the drive itself or even the PSU. 

But one guy even fixed his issue by getting a different displayport cable: Cold boot drive issue fixed by new DP cable
« Last Edit: May 07, 2021, 09:36:44 AM by WallysWorld »
"I used to be with it, but then they changed what *it* was. Now what I'm with isn't *it* and what *it* is seems weird and scary to me." - Abraham Simpson

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15129
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2021, 09:35:39 AM »
^Thanks...but, yes. That is the Seagate article I was referring to.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline WallysWorld

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1049
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2021, 09:45:12 AM »
Here's a thread from the MSI forum where again someone stated that the DisplayPort cable could be the issue: https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/nvme-not-recognized-after-cold-boot.340170/


If you're using DP connector, try to use other connector such as HDMI or different DP cable/monitor etc.


I am using NVIDIA Quadro card but unfortunately no HDMI output.
I am connecting DVI to my Wacom display and DP to my main display.
HDMI port is on the motherboard but my CPU does not support graphics, so I am not able to try that.
So far so good, stable through many counts of cold reboots, as long as I don't cut power off during POST at CPU stage.
"I used to be with it, but then they changed what *it* was. Now what I'm with isn't *it* and what *it* is seems weird and scary to me." - Abraham Simpson

Offline GDS_Starfury

  • Musketeer
  • *****
  • Posts: 37486
  • Sons of Punarchy
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2021, 04:20:53 PM »
hit it with a hammer!  :bd:
Toonces - Don't ask me, I just close my eyes and take it.

Gus - I use sweatpants with flannel shorts to soak up my crotch sweat.

Banzai Cat - There is no "partial credit" in grammar. Like anal sex. It's either in, or it's not.

Mirth - We learned long ago that they key isn't to outrun Star, it's to outrun Gus.

Martok - I don't know if it's possible to have an "anti-boner"...but I now have one.

Gus - Celery is vile and has no reason to exist. Like underwear on Star.


Offline endfire79

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1432
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2021, 08:25:08 AM »
It sounds weird but I wouldn't rule it out (possible problem with that DisplayPort cable and the DP_PWR pin).  This has probably been fixed by newer versions of those cables.  It's possible both sides of the cable have that pin wired when they shouldn't have. 

Instead of using the DisplayPort cables that came with your monitor or graphics card, I'd try swapping them with a HDMI if your gpu & display supports it or buy another DisplayPort cable somewhere to compare. 

Here's an interesting article on that problem and explains a bit more.

http://monitorinsider.com/displayport/dp_pin20_controversy.html
"I will return before you can say 'antidisestablishmentarianism'."

"A man may fight for many things. His country, his principles, his friends. The glistening tear on the cheek of a golden child. But personally, I'd mud-wrestle my own mother for a ton of cash, an amusing clock and a sack of French porn."

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15129
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: Yet Another Glitch
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2021, 10:25:37 AM »
I have two display ports and one hdmi port on the gpu. The main monitor is plugged into the hdmi. The display ports are taken by the vr headset and a second monitor. I tried unplugging the second monitor and the problem persisted. I also swapped the monitor cable with a new one and still the problem persisted. So, I think Iíve ruled that out. I have not tried unplugging the headset yet, so I guess Iíll try that next.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18