Collins Epic Spearpoint '43 East Front review on BGG

Started by bayonetbrant, September 22, 2015, 08:05:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bayonetbrant

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1434152/spearpoint-1943-eastern-front-thoughts-and-review

QuoteFirst off, this is my first review and I hope that I can do some kind of justice here for the game. I am new to the Spearpoint 1943 line of games, however I have found it to be a very fun yet simple design. The gameplay is very smooth and can be fast paced leading to quick games, which is basically what the game is about.

Understanding the basic game mechanics is fairly simple and can be picked up quite fast. There are going to be times where you may find yourself in a position of not quite understanding/interpreting a game card (whether it's a Command card, or a Damage Card)... if this happens, you can rest assured that Byron (the game designer/publisher) or other experienced players will be available here at BGG to help you out.

This game plays great by itself, however, you may want to look into purchasing the Village and Defensive Line Map Expansion which really brings out the game. It adds terrain and LOS into the game and makes it that much more involved and intense. From what I have heard, this is NOT the last of the series and we should be looking forward to a western front "1944" version to come out possibly involving the D-Day landings, which will be fantastic to have go at later war battles with latter war equipment... oh the possibilities..!