TERRA NOVA INVICTUS (Imperialism II AAR)

Started by PanzersEast, October 27, 2014, 02:54:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PanzersEast

THE SETUP:
I am starting with a Random Old World Map and playing as the Dutch.

Custom Difficulty (55)
Random Events: ON
Food Economy: COMPLEX
Luxury Economy: COMPLEX
Extra Income from Royal Estates: ON
Slower Computer Development: NORMAL

Other settings have been set to give me a slight advantage starting out in some areas and Normal in others, since I am a relative newb to the game. 

Here is the Old World Map starting out.

INTRO:
My Goal as the Dutch is to scout my lands as quickly as possible for resources and once I determine what my possible shortages are, take out the grey and fill it with Orange.  By trade I am a turtler player, however in this case it would be a determent to me and almost certain defeat.  So, I plan to be as aggressive as possible in the New World.  I must be very careful because if it is to my advantage to take territory in the Old Word, then I will take it.  For sure it will be a balance and to take advantage of any relationships I can build to manipulate to my side.  I also would like to grow my population rather quickly to build up a formidable military.

I for sure feel the pressure of having 3 Major Powers bordering myself, so I will have to strike a balance in the way I distribute my military.  I am going to try and stay away from conflict as much as possible, but given my starting location and the mad rush for the New World, this seems like wishful thinking.  I may look to see which of my neighbors gains the most strength and then buddy up to them.....   ah, the joys of expansion.

PE

Martok

"Like we need an excuse to drink to anything..." - Banzai_Cat
"I like to think of it not as an excuse but more like Pavlovian Response." - Sir Slash

"At our ages, they all look like jailbait." - mirth

"If we had lines here that would have crossed all of them. For the 1,077,986th time." - Gusington