Crafty marketing and how to see through it

Started by W8taminute, June 28, 2022, 03:33:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

W8taminute

Have you ever had buyers remorse after buying a video game you thought you really really wanted only to find out you were had?

You were deceived into thinking the game was going to be such and such an experience but it turned out to be something else?

This has happened to me quite a few times recently as well as over the years.  I've been buying video games since the late 1980's.  During all of those years I can honestly say that I can count on one hand the number of games that disappointed me because I was fooled.  That only applies up until the past 2 or 3 years however.  There have been more than 10 games I've bought recently that have been disappointments. 

I'm trying to figure out why the failure rate has increased in my gaming purchases given my stellar performance up until about 2019.  I pride myself on being able to discern whether I'll like a game or not but even with all my years of experience I've been hoodwinked quite too much recently.

I have my theories based on a case by case study of my failures but I don't want to share my findings yet until I have seen what others have to say.  If no one replies after 72 hours I'll go ahead and elaborate.   ;)

Curious to see if anyone else here has had similar experiences?
"You and I are of a kind. In a different reality, I could have called you friend."

Romulan Commander to Kirk

SirAndrewD

An oldie...

1944 Across the Rhine. 

Marketed as M1 Tank Platoon in WW2.....EXTENSIVELY marketed that way.

It was....not.  Not even in the same genre. 

One of the most disappointing purchases of a game I've ever made and still leaves a sour taste.

Back then there wasn't really a way to see through it except to wait for reviews, and I didn't.