Sources

Started by Jarhead0331, August 11, 2019, 10:55:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jarhead0331

When I was a student the internet was still in its infancy and using articles posted on the internet as source material for a serious historical publication was not the norm, and was discouraged for reasons of unreliability and trustworthiness.

I imagine much has changed over the last 25 years, but I recently took the time to look at the source list for an article published in one of my favorite monthly print publications and was surprised to see citations to forum posts and the Wikipedia. This strikes me as somewhat unprofessional, in that generally forum posts and even the wiki can be based highly on opinion and questionable and unverifyable research.

Am I just showing my age, or is this still a disfavored practice that brings the quality of the publication and article into question?
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18

The_Admiral

Except as an item of research (for instance regarding a sociology paper related to internet forums behavior, and the likes) I wouldn't imagine adding anything of the kind to my list of references. Same thing with Wikipedia, that by its very DNA cannot be considered a source at all anyway (considering that, in theory, everything posted on Wikipedia HAS to be sourced prior to its existence...!)

Besides primary sources (an interview on Youtube, an online database, etc...) blog Posts and lite-research (i.e. The Conversation) are something else entirely if the author is duly identified. These could actually be allowed in my vision of a bibliography. Besides some articles might also only be available on internet (especially if they never got published), through Research Gate for instance. If this is the only way to access it, then I will mention it. For any web-based source, the time of access naturally matters too.