Lovecraft: What Am I Missing?

Started by LongBlade, July 02, 2013, 11:09:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LongBlade

OK,

I picked up the Kindle anthology of HP Lovecraft.

I'm slogging through the first story about some guy in the Antarctic (At the Mountains of Madness).

While I can appreciate the setting, the prose is awful. It's like Lovecraft took a sophomore level thesaurus and stuck it in a blender. He uses lots of big words but all they do is get in the way of what might be an otherwise good story.

As an editor I'm pulling out my hair trying to force myself to enjoy a story that is not well told.

Why is this guy being hailed as anything other than a really poor writer? Does it get better? Are any of the stories worth reading?
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

Toonces

Two things:

1.  His stories vary wildly regarding their quality.  Some of the stories in your anthology he probably wrote when he was like 14 or something.
2.  They're cult popular.  Not everyone gets it.  I didn't really care for the Lovecraft stories I read either. 
"If you had a chance, right now, to go back in time and stop Hitler, wouldn't you do it?  I mean, I personally wouldn't stop him because I think he's awesome." - Eric Cartman

"Does a watch list mean you are being watched or is it a come on to Toonces?" - Biggs

LongBlade

Thanks.

This first one is painful.

I finally gave up. Looked at the first short story. Not great either, though it was written in 1916 IIRC and may have been when he was young. Even then it was far too wordy to be useful.

Hopefully someone can recommend something decent worth reading.
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

Windigo

Quote from: LongBlade on July 02, 2013, 11:37:56 PM
Thanks.

This first one is painful.