After Action Reports > Digital Gaming AARs

The Battle of Fox Gap-14 September 1862

(1/4) > >>

Tripoli:
The Battle of Fox Gap-14 September 1862

I recently started playing Scourge of War again.  I’m thinking about doing the complete Antietam campaign.  For a warm up match, I decided to play the Battle of South Mountain (Fox Gap).

For those unfamiliar with the Antietam Campaign, the Battle of Fox’s Gap was fought on 14 September 1862, several days before the more famous battle at Antietam. The battle was the first major engagement between McClellan and Lee during this campaign and resulted from Lee’s actions early in his invasion of Maryland.  During that invasion,  Lee used the Shenandoah Valley as the invasion route for his army  However, the Union garrisons at Martinsburg and Harpers Ferry did not evacuate.  This forced Lee to divide his army to clear his intended lines of supply and communication down the Shenandoah Valley.  Against the normally sluggish McClellan, such a division of forces was a minor risk.  However, in this case, a copy of Lee’s orders detailing his dividing the confederate army was unknowingly lost by the Confederates and subsequently recovered by Union troops.  Armed with this intelligence, McClellan uncharacteristically began to aggressively press forward against Lee.  By 13 September, Lee, perceiving McClellan’s threat to his widely divided forces recalled them and prepared to retreat back across the Potomac River to the safety of Virginia.   Between the two armies lay South Mountain, a 2,150 foot tall mountain that is part of the northern extension of the Blue Ridge Mountain range.  Lee ordered the single nearby confederate division under D.H. Hill to hold the mountain until the dispersed confederate forces could reunite.