Author Topic: New Rig  (Read 6001 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gusington

  • The Jewish Missile
  • Global Moderator
  • Tercio
  • *****
  • Posts: 46813
  • You must be at most 'this tall' to ride the Gus.
Re: New Rig
« Reply #45 on: March 11, 2021, 08:21:56 AM »
Yeah I go with what comes with the newest rig too. That said, all of my old computers are in use with my daughters, so I have less extra cables and stuff lying around.
"I'm not even dead and I'm rolling over in my grave."

- Toonces

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #46 on: March 12, 2021, 01:53:22 PM »
New rig is here and plugged in. So far, so good. I have my work cut out for me. So much crap to install and devices to configure.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #47 on: March 12, 2021, 03:35:39 PM »
God damn it. Having problems.

All seemed to be running well.  However, after installing DCS world and attempting to run it, I got a green screen of death. Since then, when I reboot the computer, the fans spin and all the internal lights are active, including fan lights, GFX card lights and RAM stick lights. However, the monitor is receiving no signal. It is almost as if the system is in sleep mode, but I do see the hard drive light on the tower flashing on occasion. I wonder if the 850w power supply is not enough for the 6900XT? What else could be causing this problem. I am unable to do anything with this system at the moment.  :'( :-\ :-[ :hide: :pullhair:
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Gusington

  • The Jewish Missile
  • Global Moderator
  • Tercio
  • *****
  • Posts: 46813
  • You must be at most 'this tall' to ride the Gus.
Re: New Rig
« Reply #48 on: March 12, 2021, 07:11:14 PM »
Is the monitor new too? If not, do you have a spare cord?
"I'm not even dead and I'm rolling over in my grave."

- Toonces

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #49 on: March 12, 2021, 07:44:20 PM »
Is the monitor new too? If not, do you have a spare cord?

No. Its definitely not a monitor problem. I have two monitors and neither is getting a signal.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Father Ted

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1090
Re: New Rig
« Reply #50 on: March 13, 2021, 02:44:48 AM »
God damn it. Having problems.

What a pisser.  Bit of a long shot, but how about re-seating the GPU and RAM?

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #51 on: March 13, 2021, 04:59:55 AM »
God damn it. Having problems.

What a pisser.  Bit of a long shot, but how about re-seating the GPU and RAM?

Yes. I will do this, but want to wait for customer service so I dont void the warranty.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Queeg

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
Re: New Rig
« Reply #52 on: March 13, 2021, 06:27:09 AM »
God damn it. Having problems.

All seemed to be running well.  However, after installing DCS world and attempting to run it, I got a green screen of death. Since then, when I reboot the computer, the fans spin and all the internal lights are active, including fan lights, GFX card lights and RAM stick lights. However, the monitor is receiving no signal. It is almost as if the system is in sleep mode, but I do see the hard drive light on the tower flashing on occasion. I wonder if the 850w power supply is not enough for the 6900XT? What else could be causing this problem. I am unable to do anything with this system at the moment.  :'( :-\ :-[ :hide: :pullhair:

Do you hear any beeps when you boot the PC?  The motherboard will beep an error code if, for example, the memory is unseated. 

Also, are your monitors in sleep mode?  Iíve read of people having problems booting with a 6900XT if the monitor has gone into sleep mode.  Try pressing the monitor button to make sure it is awake and then boot the PC.  Apparently a problem especially with Samsung monitors. 
« Last Edit: March 13, 2021, 06:30:29 AM by Queeg »

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #53 on: March 13, 2021, 06:31:32 AM »
No beeps. No sounds. No indication that anything is wrong other than a black screen. Iíll check the sleep mode issue.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Queeg

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
Re: New Rig
« Reply #54 on: March 13, 2021, 06:52:33 AM »
If you have two monitors connected, try unplugging one and see if you can get one working and then go from there.

It could be a problem with the GPU, but there are a lot of reports of monitors being the problem with this card.  The card apparently goes into sleep mode if it doesnít quickly detect an active monitor.  Anything that interrupts or interferes with the connection to the monitor can result in the GPU going to sleep. 

Some other ideas:

Some people report that switching the cable to a different port on the monitor or GPU worked.

Or switching from Display Port to HDMI (or vice versa).

Or unplugging the power cord on the monitor, letting it power down for a minute, plugging it back in and then rebooting the PC. 

Or trying a new DP or HDMI cable. 

If you get booted again, take a look at the Freesync settings in the Radeon software. Some have reported that setting Feesync to ďStandardĒ fixes the problem. 

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #55 on: March 13, 2021, 06:55:53 AM »
^thanks. Iíve tried most of that. One monitor, different ports, etc. I really donít think its monitor related, but Iíll keep trying.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #56 on: March 13, 2021, 07:10:26 AM »
So this morning I got it to actually boot up. However, in short order, the screen would go glitchy and reboot. This happened several times. I'm now in the blue screen windows repair menu, but I don't want to do anything without talking to customer support. For instance, I can restore the system and reinstall windows, but if it reboots in the middle of that, I'll be really screwed.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2021, 07:13:55 AM by Jarhead0331 »
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18


Offline Queeg

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
Re: New Rig
« Reply #57 on: March 13, 2021, 07:28:58 AM »
Thatís so frustrating. And working with customer support is the best approach.  The worst case scenario of having to return the computer is better than the worser case of voiding your warranty.  Good luck.   

Offline jamus34

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1944
Re: New Rig
« Reply #58 on: March 13, 2021, 07:57:41 AM »
Does the cpu have on board video or do you have a spare vid card you can try swapping?

Wondering if you have a dud vid card since the system died when trying to run DCS.

If you can get the system to at least run with one of the above options then that hopefully isolates to issue to vid card.
Insert witty comment here.

Offline Jarhead0331

  • Judge Advocate General
  • Administrator
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 15121
  • Global Moderator, General Counsel, Heavy Weapons
Re: New Rig
« Reply #59 on: March 13, 2021, 08:41:49 AM »
I got into safe mode and am running windows updates to see if that makes a difference. Maybe there was a driver problem.
Grogheads Uber Alles
Semper Grog
"No beast is more alpha than JH." Gusington, 10/23/18