The n00b to end all wars!

Started by MetalDog, September 06, 2014, 05:37:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MetalDog

Ok.  So I snagged a copy of 'To End All Wars.'  I wanted to be in on the latest thing at the same time as every one else.  The funny thing is, nothing about this game is at all what I like.  The time period, the duration, the scope, none of it.  And on top of it, I tried, and failed, my only other AGEod attempt, American Civil War.  "Why bother," you might ask?  Because.  That answer worked for me as a kid, I figure it should work for me now.

In case it doesn't, the answer to, "why," is actually several reasons.  First, I really don't know much outside the broad strokes of World War I and history, more importantly, battles, was the main reason I started playing wargames.  So, exploring this era will enlighten me.  Second, learning different styles of play may bring me added enjoyment.  Taking full advantage of a games strengths and weaknesses is a fun exercise and what I learn here can only broaden my knowledge for other games.  And last, I have been in a gaming funk for a while.  I love me some TBS civ building, but, I think I am going to like that this is focused largely on the war aspect.

In any event, with as much traffic as was generated in the Computer Wargaming forum for this game, I figured there might be some call for an AAR.  As I hadn't seen one yet, I thought I'd write one myself.
And the One Song to Rule Them All is Gimme Shelter - Rolling Stones

"If its a Balrog, I don't think you get an option to not consent......." - bob

MetalDog

I spent a couple of hours today reading the manual.  Would much rather have a paper than a .pdf, but, you take what you can get.  I have chosen to play the Central Powers for no other reason than I never play Germany in a WWII game.  Just from reading the manual, some of the goals I have for my alliance are:

* Disrupting Allied shipping through sub warfare