Been working on Grav Armor Module for Vassal

Started by Pinetree, September 08, 2012, 04:16:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pinetree

Just thought I'd share on something I've been working on for about 3 years now, it's faced delays by having 3 children and also a PC dying on me.

I once had an old issue of Space Gamer that  had a couple of scenarios for a game called Grav Armor, it looked like an interesting game but I didn't have the internet back then so I couldn't find out anything more about it. About 8 years ago, Grav Armor was made freeware and I downloaded it. It's a pretty cool game, someone called it Panzerblitz of the future, with some nifty mechanics. Each scenario has a unique terrain chart that makes them feel like different games due to visibility and/or adverse terrain. One scenario takes a place on a volcanic planet where infantry can die if they stop in lava fields, for example.

There's been 2 Vassal modules for it so far but none have taken advantage of Vassal's power and the graphics used have been pretty average. It doesn't help that the scans available for the maps aren't square so the maps have looked off. I decided to try and make the best module for the game there is, and in all modesty, I think I've succeeded. I'm really happy with the counter graphics and I managed to square up the maps nicely, as well as getting rid of the really thick hex-grid. All that needs done now is the user guide for the module and the scenarios set-up and also converted into HTML. It's taking a while but there's no deadline and the hard stuff is over so I'm taking my time doing it and trying to get it right.

Some of the things I did were:

- Re-worked counters and maps.
- Automated casualty and exited units tracker.
- Fire-support tab for ortillery (orbital artillery)and forts' weaponry.
- Setup boards for starting units, reinforcements, and units in orbit.
- Editable terrain chart for creating new scenarios.