Multiplayer: Not ok to be ok?

Started by republic, November 11, 2013, 07:13:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

republic

I used to be really good at multiplayer games.  I could Quake with the best of them, and a master at Descent....but then I got older and had to go to work and raise a family.  As it is, I have an hour a day to play video games.  As such, I'm not good at many of them that are reaction related.  I can hold my own on DCS because it is skill related, but it takes me some time and lots of coffee to ramp up my brain to Battlefield 3 twitch levels.

The thing I'm finding is that it is nolonger ok to be ok at multiplayer games.

I have been reading up on King Arthur's Gold http://www.kag2d.com/en/ and thinking of how much I'd like to play it...but I won't buy it because I know that a few months after release the core players will be so good and so anti-noob I won't have a chance to play anyway.

I guess the fix for this issue is to join a gaming clan or community...but that just sounds grueling.

LongBlade

Several years ago (at a different website) we sponsored a Call of Duty server. It was great because we played the maps we wanted and the style we wanted (hardcore). Griefers got booted quickly. There were about ten of us who got together every weekend and played. It was awesome.

More recently there were about half a dozen guys here playing Warlock. That seems to have faded away, but I am sure that with some effort we can get a couple of groups going from the crowd here. The biggest obstacle is agreeing what game to play. Next thing is to convince some guys to play it (that shouldn't be too difficult).

We've got a dedicated sub forum for folks to find multiplayer partners/opponents, but you're welcome to post in here to get more attention until the group is formed. Then it's probably better moved to the appropriate forum.
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,